EC announces poll dates for 2021 election for Sikyong and members of 17th TPIE

DHARAMSALA, 28 Sept: The Tibetan Election Commission today announced the poll dates for the 2021 election for the Sikyong(President) of the Tibetan people and Chitue (members of Parliament).

“The preliminary election for Sikyong and members of the 17th Tibetan Parliament will take place on 3 January 2021 and the final election on 11 April 2021,”  Wangdu Tsering Pesur,  the Chief Election Commissioner(CEC) of the Central Tibetan Administration declared, flanked by his two Additional Election Commissioners on both sides.

The commission, in accordance with the provision of Article 67 (4) of the electoral rules and regulation, announced its decision to shortlist two candidates for the final election of Sikyong.

Prepared for all eventualities, the EC also announced its decision to shortlist three candidates for the final Sikyong election if there is a tie between two candidates for the second-highest votes in the preliminary polls and to shortlist the candidates with the joint highest votes if two candidates secure equal votes.

So far, former CTA Kalon Gyari Dolma and Lobsang Nyandak, TPIE’s Deputy Speaker Acharya Yeshi Phuntsok, Tashi Wangdue, Kelsang Dorjee Aukatsang (Kaydor), former Speaker of TPIE Penpa Tsering and Tashi Topgyal have announced their candidacy for the 2021 Tibetan general election. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *