Gu-Chu-Sum elects new executive members

DHARAMSALA, May 26: Gu-Chu-Sum Movement of Tibet, an organization of former political prisoner’s of Tibet elected 11 new executive members on May 25 during an urgent meeting held here in Dharamsala.

The election was made necessary by the resignation of 11 members of its 15-member executive committee following their selection for immigration to Australia under the Australian government’s rehabilitation programme for former Tibetan political prisoners.

Newly elected executive members of Gu-Ch-Sum Movement of Tibet.
Newly elected executive members of Gu-Ch-Sum Movement of Tibet.

The newly elected executive members are: Gyalthang Trulku, Dorjee Tsering, Dawa Tashi, Atsok Lugar Jam, Pasang Wangyal, Sangay, Lobsang Tenzin, Lobsang Nyima, Chime Dorjee, Tashi Nyima and Ngawang Triral.

Pasang Tsering and Namgyal Dolkar Lhagyari will continue to serve as the President and Vice President of the organization. The post of Secretary of the organization which has been made vacant following the mass resignation will be filled in with a majority vote among the executive members.

Out of over 600 members in India, Nepal, Bhutan and several foreign countries, 100 members participated in the election on Sunday.

The Gu-Chu-Sum Movement of Tibet was established on September 27, 1991 in Dharamsala by former Tibetan political prisoners. The NGO works to provide needed support to ex-political prisoners who have escaped into exile and also to secure the release of other Tibetan political prisoners in Tibet.

The Tibetan words Gu-Chu-Sum stand for the numbers 9, 10 and 3, which refers to three months in the late 1980s (September 1987, October 1987, and March 1988) when major Tibetan protests were crushed by the Chinese government in Lhasa, the traditional capital of Tibet.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *