Harvard honours two Tibetan women for contribution to social innovation in Tibet

By Lobsang Tenchoe

DHARAMSALA, March 7 : Two Tibetan women have featured in the 5th Annual Harvard Law School International Women’s Day Portrait Exhibit hosted by the Harvard Women’s Law Association in honour of International Women’s Day.

Founders of Machik, Lobsang Rabgey and Tashi Rabgey(L-R)

Lobsang Rabgey and Tashi Rabgey, founders of Machik, a non-profit organisation have been honoured by the prestigious Harvard Law School at its Annual Harvard Law International Women’s Day Portrait Exhibit in honour of their outstanding contribution to social innovation in China occupied Tibet through educational development and capacity building.

“Lobsang Rabgey has been recognized by the National Geographic Society for her work promoting gender equality and bridging cultural divides,” the citation of the portrait exhibit read. It further described her as a zealous advocate and an inspiration to those around her.

While Tashi Rabgey, a Research Professor of International Affairs and Director of the Tibet Governance Project at George Washington University has been described as fiercely committed to community service and the empowerment of women and youth.

Machik, a U.S. based non-profit organisation was established in 2002 with a mission to develop new opportunities for education, capacity building and innovation in Tibet. The organisation’s work focuses on six main programmes – The Chungba Project, Women’s Initiatives, Summer Enrichment Program, Social Entrepreneurship, Youth Leadership, and Governance.

The 5th Annual Harvard Law International Women’s Day Portrait Exhibit showcases the astounding contributions of 25 women around the world in the areas of law and policy.

The honorees were nominated by HLS students, faculty or staff—are powerful voices in their respective fields, whether they are sitting on a high court bench, standing in front of a classroom, or marching in the streets.

Lobsang Rabgey and Tashi Rabgey were accompanied by Canadian Minister of Justice and Attorney-General Jody Wilson-Raybould, Senior Director of Research for Amnesty International Anna Neistat, Nobel Peace Prize recipient Shirin Ebadi and the creator of “Me Too” Tarana Burke among other honorees.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *