EC declares final candidates for 2021 General election, political campaigns to resume

DHARAMSALA, 21 March: The Tibetan Election Commission today announced the candidates shortlisted for the final round of election for the third Sikyong(President) of the Tibetan people and the 17th Tibetan Parliament-in-exile as it declared open the final round of the 2021 Tibetan general elections.

In accordance with the provision of Article 67 (4) of the electoral rules and regulation, the Chief Election Commissioner(CEC) of the Central Tibetan Administration declared former Speaker of the Tibetan parliament Penpa Tsering and Kelsang Dorjee Aukatsang, the two candidates with the highest number of votes in the preliminary round as the final candidates for the 2021 Sikyong election.

For the final round of the election for members of the 17th Tibetan Parliament-in-exile, the Election Commission has shortlisted twenty candidates each from the three provinces of Tibet, four candidates each from the four schools of Tibetan Buddhism, traditional Bon religion, North America and Europe, and three candidates from Asia and Australasia (excluding India, Nepal and Bhutan).

Additionally, Wangdu Tsering Pesur, the Chief Election Commissioner also announced 5 voluntary candidates, 3 from U-Tsang province and one each from Do-tod province and North America constituency who will also contest for the Tibetan parliamentary election.

Unlike the preliminary round of election where voters have to familiarise not just the name of candidates but also their native place, occupation and their present residence as well will have a respite with all the candidates assigned electoral symbol for the final round.

“We urge all the voters to kindly “stamp on the name of the candidates” they want to cast their vote for in their ballot paper,” the EC added.

When asked if the EC has any plans to hold debates between the Sikyong Candidates, the EC responded in the negative.

Exiled Tibetans spread across 26 countries in the world went to the poll to cast their vote for the preliminary round of the 2021 Tibetan general election on 3 January and the preliminary election results were announced on 8 Feb.

The EC then provided a period of 9 days till 16 February to the candidates to decide if they wish to withdraw their candidacy while declaring a blanket ban on political campaigns and events from the candidates as well as their supporters until 21 March.

The EC also announced that election campaigns by or for the candidates must end by 8 Apr. 5 pm.

The final election for the political head of the Tibetan people and its parliamentarians will be held on 11 April 2021 and the results will be declared on 14 May.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *