Hongkongers nominated for 2020 Nobel Peace Prize

Norwegian lawmaker Guri Melby.

DHARAMSALA, 17 Oct: A Norwegian lawmaker has nominated the people of Hong Kong for the 2020 Nobel Peace Prize to encourage the international community to support the city’s fight for freedom of speech and democracy, reports the SCMP.

“I have nominated the people of Hong Kong, who risk their lives and security every day to stand up for freedom of speech and basic democracy, to the Nobel Peace Prize for 2020,” Guri Melby, an MP from Oslo and a Liberal Party politician tweeted on Tuesday announcing her nomination.

“I hope this will be further encouragement to the movement: #StandWithHongKong,” She added in her tweet.

The Norwegian lawmaker has further stated in the report that she was deeply moved by the (anti-)extradition bill movement which she described as a democracy movement in its entirety which deserves recognition for its brave efforts.

The 38-year-old MP who visited Hong Kong last month has further stated that the government of Hong Kong has tried to paint protesters as violent hooligans, but my impression from the streets of Hong Kong is that these are ordinary people, protesting against a city government bent on curtailing their freedoms.

This is not the first nomination of the Hongkongers for the Nobel Peace Prize, last year, Hong Kong activists Joshua Wong, Nathan Law, Alex Chow and the Umbrella Movement was also nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize by twelve US lawmakers.

The Nobel Peace Prize is one of the five Nobel Prizes established by the will of Swedish industrialist, inventor, and armaments manufacturer Alfred Nobel, along with the prizes in Chemistry, Physics, Physiology or Medicine, and Literature

Abiy Ahmed Ali, the Ethiopian Prime Minister was awarded the 2019 Nobel Peace Prize for his efforts to achieve peace and international cooperation, and in particular for his decisive initiative to resolve the border conflict with neighbouring Eritrea.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *