Tibetan parliament approves Kashag Secretary’s elevation to Kalon

CTA President Dr Lobsang Sangay announcing Topgyal Tsering Zongkha’s nomination for the kalon of the 15th Kashag in the parliament

DHARAMSALA, March 22: The 16th Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile (TPIE) today approved Topgyal Tsering Zongkha, President Dr Lobsang Sangay’s nomination for Kalon (Minister) of the 15th Kashag (Cabinet).

When President Sangay announced Topgyal Tsering Zongkha’s nomination for new Kalon of the 15th Kashag, MP Dawa Phunkyi objected to the nomination. Following which President Sangay appraised the house on Topgyal Tsering Zongkha’s dedication and service spanning over more than three decades in various capacities. The Speaker then opened the floor for voting to determine the approval of the kalon nominee by the legislature.

With 21 approval votes, 18 disapproval votes and 2 neutral votes, 1 invalid vote, Topgyal Tsering Zongkha’s nomination was approved by a majority vote by the Tibetan legislators.

Topgyal Tsering Zongkha presently serves as the Secretary of the Kashag Secretariat. He was appointed to the post on June 3, 2016, after his predecessor Ven Karma Gelek Yuthok’s elevation as Kalon of the 15th Kashag by Sikyong Dr Lobsang Sangay.

“Since 1973, after completing my formal education, I have dedicated my entire life to public service. As I am nearing my extended retirement age in June this year, Sikyong asked me to continue with my services. Having served as the secretary of the 15th Kashag, which has just over two more years left to go, I agreed to continue with my service for the remaining time of the 15th Kashag,” Topgyal Tsering Zongkha said and vowed to continue with the same dedication and commitment having received the approval of the parliament.

Topgyal Tsering was born in 1955 at Latoe Zongkha in western Tibet and came to exile along with his uncle when he was 8. He was appointed as permanent staff of the CTA in 1978. Since then he served as cashier, secretary, undersecretary, deputy secretary, joint secretary and additional secretary of various departments of the CTA until now.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *