U.S. lawmakers defy China, nominates ‘Umbrella Movement’ for the Nobel Peace Prize

By Lobsang Tenchoe

DHARAMSALA, Feb 3: A bipartisan group of U.S. lawmakers has reportedly nominated Hong Kong’s pro-democracy ‘Umbrella Movement’ for the 2018 Nobel Peace Prize.

Joshua Wong, Alex Chow and Natha Law. Image – Facebook/Demosisto.

Senator Marco Rubio and Representative Chris Smith, the chair and co-chair of the bipartisan Congressional-Executive Commission on China (CECC), led the bipartisan, bicameral group of lawmakers in nominating Joshua Wong, Nathan Law, Alex Chow and the entire pro-democracy Umbrella Movement in Hong Kong for the 2018 Nobel Peace Prize, reports the Hong Kong Free Press.

The nomination was filed in recognition of the peaceful efforts of Joshua Wong, Nathan Law, Alex Chow and the entire pro-democracy Umbrella Movement in Hong Kong to bring political reform and self-determination to Hong Kong and protect the autonomy and freedom guaranteed to Hong Kong in the Sino-British Joint Declaration.

“This nomination could not be more timely as Hong Kong’s long-cherished autonomy continues to erode, and Umbrella Movement leaders face reprisals simply for espousing basic human rights and freedoms,” Senator Marco Rubio said in a statement while announcing the nomination.

China, as expected has resolutely denounced the nomination as a form of ‘meddling’ in its internal affairs.

“We urge the relevant U.S. Congressmen to stop interfering in Hong Kong and China’s internal affairs and do more to benefit the development of Sino-U.S. ties rather than the opposite,” China’s Foreign Ministry said in a statement.

The Chairman of the CECC has further lauded Wong and his fellow activists as an inspiration” and added, “their cause has reverberations far beyond their city.”

According to the report on the official webpage of the CECC, in addition to the Chairs, the letter to the Nobel Prize Committee was signed by Senators Gary Peters (D-MI), Steve Daines (R-MT), and Cory Gardner (R-CO) and Representatives Elliot Engel (D-NY), Dana Rohrabacher (R-CA), Brad Sherman (D-CA), Mark Meadows (R-NC), Marcy Kaptur (D-OH), Randy Hultgren (R-IL), and Ann Wagner (R-MO).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *