DYSA Mundgod FC crowned 24th Gyalyum Chenmo Memorial Gold Champion

By Lobsang Tenchoe

DHARAMSALA, April 10: DYSA Mundgod won the 24th Gyalyum Chenmo Memorial Gold Cup tournament after defeating Gangtok FC in the final match of the tournament played today at Dickyi Larsoe Tibetan settlement in Bylakuppe.

Gangtok FC team lost GCM Gold Cup final match to DYSA Mundgod Tibetan settlement team after conceding a goal each at either end of the ground.

The Gangtok FC team played like novices against DYSA FC in the final match of the tournament as the team from Sikkim reportedly had some of its players disqualified for not having Green Book (Chatrel Book).

Longtime Tibet supporter, Mrs Asha Reddy and the Tibetan Chief Representative of South Zone, Choephel Thupten attended the final match as the Chief Guest and Special Guest respectively.

Phurpa from Gangtok FC was awarded the best player of the tournament while TDL FC was awarded the fair play award. DYSA FC’s Tenzin Monlam and Tenzin Samdup were awarded the golden boot and the golden glove of the tournament respectively.

Following the GCM Gold Cup final, a girl’s exhibition match was played between Tibetan Women’s team and Karnataka women’s Team.

Mrs Asha Reddy sponsored the prize money for the winner of the tournament. A total of 19 teams participated in the 24th Gyalyum Chenmo Memorial Gold Cup tournament. The league cum knockout tournament was played over March 31-April 10.

The GCM Gold Cup tournament is played annually in the memory of the great mother of His Holiness the Dalai Lama. GCM football tournament was first held in 1981.

Though the tournament was organized by various bodies for more than twenty years, Tibetan National Sports Association (TNSA) took charge of organizing the tournament annually since 2003. Based on performance in the GCM tournament, TNSA selects players for the Tibetan National Team which occasionally competes in tournaments held in India as well as foreign countries.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *