Tibetan leadership congratulates BS Yediyurappa, Karnataka’s new CM

BS Yediyurappa, the 19th chief minister of Karnataka.

DHARAMSALA, 30 July: His Holiness the Dalai Lama and the Central Tibetan Administration have congratulated BS Yediyurappa as he took over as the new Chief Minister of Karnataka.

“I trust that under your leadership the people of Karnataka will see prosperity and progress,” the Dalai Lama has said as he conveyed his congratulations to BS Yediyurappa on becoming the new Chief Minister of Karnataka.

“I particularly hope that you will strive to improve the lives of the less privileged people in the State,” the Tibetan spiritual leader added.

The Tibetan Nobel laureate was joined by the President of Central Tibetan Administration, Dr Lobsang Sangay and the Speaker of Tibetan Parliament-in-Exile Pema Jungney as they thanked the Karnakata State for hosting the largest number of Tibetan refugees in India.

As many as 30,000 Tibetans reside in Karnataka State and the Tibetan leadership thanked the government and the people of Karnataka for the support and assistance to the Tibetans in particular and the government and people of India at large.

The Dalai Lama, President Sangay and Speaker Pema Jungney have all wished the 19th chief minister of Karnataka every success in fulfilling the expectation and aspirations of his people under his leadership.

“I on behalf of Tibetan people heartily congratulate you on once again becoming the Chief Minister of Karnataka state. I wish you all the success in your responsibility as the chief minister and hope that you will be able to fulfil all your promises to the people without obstacles,” President Sangay has said in a statement.

Speaker Pema Jungney has also wished the CM Yediyurappa in “fulfilling the expectation and aspirations of his people”.

BS Yediyurappa, a senior BJP leader was sworn in as Karnataka’s chief minister for a record fourth time on Friday after a sudden political twist in the south Indian state that led to the Congress-JDS coalition government to crumble.

His first stint as chief minister lasted just for a week (12-19 November in 2007). His second stint was over three years from 30 May 2008- 29 May 2011.

His third stint as the chief minister was also short-lived, just six days from 17 -23 May 2018 as he failed to get majority support in the Assembly and had to resign.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *