TYC marks 52nd founding anniversary with grand finale of ‘Martyrs Memorial Basketball Tournament’

DHARAMSALA, Oct 7: Tibetan Youth Congress (TYC), the largest Tibetan non-governmental organization in exile, marked its 52nd founding anniversary by hosting the grand finale of the “20th The Martyrs Memorial Basketball Tournament” at the basketball court located near the headquarters of Central Tibetan Administration (CTA).

The tournament comprising matches in men’s and women’s categories was organised by the Dharamsala chapter of TYC to express solidarity with the Tibetan martyrs who sacrificed their lives for the freedom of the Tibetan people and to promote the importance of good health among exiled Tibetans.

Hundreds of Tibetan sports enthusiasts thronged the basketball court to watch the event unfold at 4 pm.

This year, six men’s teams and two women’s teams took part in the tournament played from 26 Sept. to 7 Oct.

Sarah’s  Team beat their opponent Munsel team to win the women’s final match while the Thubho team defeated the team Brute in the men’s final.

The largest Tibetan NGO supporting complete independence for Tibet stated in its press release that it will oppose and resist the Chinese government unless Tibet regains its independence. 

TYC further called out China for its occupation of Tibet, arbitrary detention of Tibetans, the torture and brutality it inflicted on the Tibetans, China’s mismanagement of the pandemic outbreak in Tibet and China’s involuntary mass DNA collection across Tibet among others.

The Security Minister(Kalon) of the CTA, Gyari Dolma who attended the grand finale as the Chief Guest and the President of the TYC Gonpo Dhondup, gave a brief address and handed over the prizes.

With the objective of the restoration of complete independence for the whole of Tibet, which includes the traditional provinces of U-Tsang, Do-toe, and Do-med, TYC was founded on 7 October 1970, in Dharamsala. His Holiness the Dalai Lama delivered the inaugural address. 

TYC has now grown with over 30,000 members and 88 regional chapters spread across the world.

The founding members of TYC are Tenzin Geyche Tethong, Lodi G. Gyari, Sonam Topgyal and Tenzin N. Tethong. Tenzin Geyche Tethong was the first President while Gonpo Dhondup was reelected as the President of the 18th Central Executive committee members of the TYC last month.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *